Church of Christ (Temple Lot)

 Religious Groups > Latter-day Saints Family (Mormonism) >
Search Religious Groups:

Denominational Profile


Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

split into  Church of Christ (Temple Lot) (1867)


The Church of Christ is a denomination of the Latter-day Saint movement headquartered in Independence, Missouri on what is known as the Temple Lot. Members of the church have been known colloquially as Hedrickites, after Granville Hedrick, who was ordained the first leader of the faction in July 1863.

Membership Data

Year Clergy Churches Members
1940 - 56 2,179
1951 - 25 2,275
1956 211 12 3,000
1972 188 32 2,400

Data were taken from the National Council of Churches' Historic Archive CD and recent editions of the Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches. The National Council of Churches' data collection was discontinued after the 2012 Yearbook was published, and has been resumed by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies (ASARB). The tables and graphs will be updated when the new collection is available. See the Yearbook of Churches. Denomination descriptions provided by Dr. J. Gordon Melton, Director, Institute for the Study of American Religion (ISAR). [More information on data sources]

Bookmark and Share