Lutheran Synodical Conference

 Religious Groups > Lutheran Family >
Search Religious Groups:

Denominational Profile


The Synodical Conference was formed in 1872 by the more conservative synods of American Lutherans: Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Illinois, and the Norwegians. It dissolved in 1963.

Membership Data

Year Clergy Churches Members
1931 - - 868,558
1933 - 5,043 1,403,048
1935 4,373 5,156 1,495,947
1937 - 5,153 1,538,148

Data were taken from the National Council of Churches' Historic Archive CD and recent editions of the Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches. The National Council of Churches' data collection was discontinued after the 2012 Yearbook was published, and has been resumed by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies (ASARB). The tables and graphs will be updated when the new collection is available. See the Yearbook of Churches. Denomination descriptions provided by Dr. J. Gordon Melton, Director, Institute for the Study of American Religion (ISAR). [More information on data sources]

Bookmark and Share