Eastern Catholic Churches
The Eastern Catholic churches are autonomous bodies formed at various times since 1054 CE that follow the rites of the various Eastern Orthodox churches but which are in full communion with the Roman Catholic Churches. The leaders of several of these churches (including the Coptic Catholic Church, Syriac Catholic Church, and the Maronite Catholic Church) have been recognized as a patriarch. The existence of these churches remain as an additional item dividing the Roman Catholic Church from the Eastern Orthodox churches.