Roman Catholic Church
The Roman Catholic Church is centered in the Vatican and is headed by the Pope. Rome is one of the original five Sees of the Christian Church. It became an important center of Christendom after Emperor Constantine's conversion to Christianity. It separated from the four eastern Sees (Constantinople, Antioch, Jerusalem, and Alexandria) in 1054. The Roman Catholic Church is the largest Christian communion worldwide.