County Membership Report
 Maps and Reports > Select Counties >
Search Maps & Reports:

Teton County (Montana)

Religious Traditions, 2010

949 1,226 1,100 540 2,258
Evangelical Protestant Mainline Protestant Catholic Other Unclaimed

Congregational adherents include all full members, their children, and others who regularly attend services. The 2010 reports contain incomplete counts of congregations and adherents belonging to the eight largest historically African-American denominations. These denominations are not included in the 2000 reports and are largely missing from the 1990 and 1980 reports.
[More information on the data sources]


Religious Bodies Tradition Family Congregations Adherents Adherence Rate
Non-denominational Evangelical Protestant
1 112 18.44
Seventh-day Adventist Church Evangelical Protestant Adventist 1 110 18.11
Churches of Christ Evangelical Protestant Baptist 1 30 4.94
Southern Baptist Convention Evangelical Protestant Baptist 1 178 29.31
Catholic Church Catholic Catholicism 4 1,100 181.13
Hutterian Brethren Evangelical Protestant Communal 3 --- ---
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, The Other Latter-day Saints 2 538 88.59
Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Mainline Protestant Lutheran 4 903 148.69
Lutheran Church--Missouri Synod Evangelical Protestant Lutheran 2 152 25.03
Lutheran Congregations in Mission for Christ Evangelical Protestant Lutheran 1 153 25.19
United Methodist Church, The Mainline Protestant Methodist/Pietist 2 219 36.06
Bahá'í Other Other Groups 0 2 0.33
Assemblies of God Evangelical Protestant Pentecostal 2 214 35.24
United Church of Christ Mainline Protestant Presbyterian-Reformed 2 104 17.12
Totals: 26 3,815  

The population of Teton County, Montana was 6,073 in 2010; in 2000 it was 6,445. The total population changed -5.8%. The adherent totals of the religious groups listed above (3,815) included 62.8% of the total population in 2010.

* In an effort to better match the ASARB standards for adherents, a few religious bodies changed the way their adherents were reported in 2010, including the Catholic Church, Amish groups, Friends groups, Jewish groups, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Non-denominational Christian Churches, and the United Methodist Church. This change does not affect any of the data in the newly released 2010 U.S. Religion Census: Religious Congregations & Membership Study. In fact, the data for these groups are now more comparable to that of other bodies than it was in previous decadal reports.

However, the change in methodology can distort assessments on growth or decline between 2000 and 2010 for each of these groups. County-level 2000 data using the new methodology are not readily available. ASARB staff has adjusted some 2000 county-level adherent statistics to allow for a more accurate picture on growth or decline. The revised maps and charts are now available on-line at for those who are interested in these trends.


2010 data were collected by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies (ASARB) and include statistics for 236 religious groups, providing information on the number of their congregations and adherents within each state and county in the United States. Clifford Grammich, Kirk Hadaway, Richard Houseal, Dale E. Jones, Alexei Krindatch, Richie Stanley and Richard H. Taylor supervised the collection. These data originally appeared in 2010 U.S. Religion Census: Religious Congregations & Membership Study, published by the Association of Statisticians of American Religious Bodies (ASARB). [More information on the data collection]

The adherence rate provides the number of adherents of a particular group per 1,000 population. For example, in 2010 the Episcopal Church had an adherence rate of 7.6 in Autauga County, Alabama. This means that about 8 out of every 1,000 people in Autauga County were Episcopalian.

Bookmark and Share